Questions regarding emigrating from, immigrating to and living in the Republic of Cabo Verde, also known as Cape Verde.

Republic of Cabo Verde

Flag of Cape Verde

The Republic of Cabo Verde, commonly known in English as Cape Verde, is an island country consisting of 10 official islands, 9 of them inhabited by about half a million people total. It is located about 570 kilometres (350 mi) west of Dakar, Senegal. The official currency is the Cape Verdean Escudo (CVE/ECV/$00), the country calling code is +238, and the timezone is UTC-1 year-round.

The capital and largest city is Praia, on the island of Santiago. While it is not the main tourist destination, this is where most foreign embassies and consulates are located. The official language is Portuguese, though the local Cape Verdean Creole dialects, based on Portuguese, are more often spoken.

Cape Verde is a member of ECOWAS and the CPLP. Citizens of other such countries may have special rights in Cape Verde.

Useful Links