Skip to main content

Questions regarding emigrating from, immigrating to and living in the French Republic

French Republic

Flag of France

The French Republic (République française) is a sovereign country in Western Europe. It is a member of the European Union, the EEA and the Schengen Area. It is considered as an eligible country in the USA Visa Waiver Program and the Electronic Diversity Visa Lottery. The official currency is the Euro (EUR/€), the country calling code is +33. The official timezone is CET in winter and CEST in summer.

For questions about being a citizen in France use

Useful links