Questions regarding emigrating from, immigrating to and living in the Federal Republic of Germany.

Federal Republic of Germany

German Flag

The Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesrepublik Deutschland) is a federal parliamentary republic in western-central Europe. It is a member of the European Union, the Schengen Area and (except for Büsingen am Hochrhein and Heligoland) the EU VAT Area. It is considered as an eligible country in the USA Visa Waiver Progam and the Electronic Diversity Visa Lottery. The official currency is the Euro (EUR/€), the country calling code is +49. The official timezone is CET in winter and CEST in summer.

For questions about being a citizen in Germany see

Useful Links